Driving A Manual On An Auto License  

riggaz
  • riggaz
  • Subie Love
  • Contributing Member!
  • Member No.: 30,834
Post #1 post 4th May 2007 - 02:31 AM
I have my automatic red P's license... If say I bought a manual car and was pulled over driving it what would the penalty be?

And could I simply book a manual test and go for it in the car im going to buy? or do i have to wait until im on my green P's?

thanks in advance.

--------------------
Rookie ROX
Post #2

Failing to comply with licence conditions -> $179 and 2 points

Hmmm...drive a prohibited vehicle though and that's an instant suspension..

ROCK ON
R~R

THORPE84
Post #3

interesting question, being an auto driver i have thought about this a few times

DAL32
Post #4

Just wait until the RTA has said that you have magically acquired the skills to drive manual, i.e. you have had your license for over one year.

Hmm, better make a note never to buy a manual car in NSW.

Rookie ROX
Post #5

QUOTE(THORPE84 @ May 4 2007, 09:04 AM) [snapback]1281025575[/snapback]

interesting question, being an auto driver i have thought about this a few times

1 point and $110 in Qld.

ROCK ON
R~R

v8silvia
Post #6

ok my girl drives my car what about if she gets caught she is not allowed to drive turbo and it is turbo

Rookie ROX
Post #7

State?

For NSW it's $385 and 7 points, which will be 3 month suspension for both P1s and P2s.

For QLD, seeing as the laws haven't been brought in, penalities have not yet been confirmed. I'd suspect they'd be similar (4+ points).

Edit: What is her current licence?

ROCK ON
R~R

R31 King
Post #8

hmmm,

SA don't actually have any of these laws

kitkat
Post #9

What about insurance & accidents....

Eg... You have an auto licence and your driving a manual car, you are then rear ended and thus have an accident.

Normally the driver behind is at fault, but would this change because you dont have the appropriate licence? (same as if you had an accident with no licence)

Minksi
Post #10